Pure Kitchen Ottawa

I’ll be honest, my first experience with vegan and vegetarian food in Vancouver about 8 years ago was awful. I swore to never become vegan or vegetarian, because there was no way I could survive off of bland black beans. Just nope. So I got to Pure Kitchen quite skeptical. But I had heard such good reviews that I just had to try it!

Let me warn you, there will be a wait. But it’ll be worth it, I promise! Just don’t go too too hungry and be willing to wait. The first time I tried to go with a friend, we got there at 7:30 and were told there would be a 45 minute wait – noope! I couldn’t wait that long, so we left.

But this time, I went with my mom on a Tuesday at noon, and we were told there would be a 45 minute wait, and we were okay with that. So we left them a number where they could text us, and we wandered the shops in Westboro (P.S. I have cards at The Village Quire in Westboro, just down the street!).

Once we were seated in the small but bright dining room, my mom ordered the bohemian smoothie (with almond milk, banana, blueberries, and almonds) and a fantastic bowl (maple-tamari tofu steaks, broccoli, red pepper, napa, goddess greens, scallions, cilantro, roasted peanuts, peanut sauce, and rice noodles), while I ordered the awesome burger (sautéed mushrooms, caramelized onions, house slaw, and bbq sauce on a smoky walnut mushroom patty with a little bit of both fries and salad on the side). Their menu names are incredibly non-descriptive, haha!

wp-1467170821730.jpg

I love any restaurant that lets me order a little bit of both fries and salad – totally perfect for the indecisive person that I am! [edit: I don’t remember there being an extra charge the first time I went, but it’s +.75 to get a little of both now]

wp-1467170821419.jpg

The food was delicious, I was full, and I didn’t miss meat! The skeptic in me is no more. I could totally be an omnivore and occasional vegetarian. If food was always this delicious, I couldn’t care less if there was meat present or not.

[Edit: I went to Pure Kitchen again, and don’t want to dedicate a whole new post since this post hasn’t gone live yet.. so I’m adding this here! Also, I got a new phone so the accompanying photos will be of significantly higher quality from now on!]

purekitchen_wrap

This is the liberty wrap (with deep fried cauliflower, buffalo sauce, garlic aioli, pickles, tomatoes, carrots, and greens in a flour tortilla). I thoroughly enjoyed the deep fried cauliflower/buffalo sauce combo. It was very much like buffalo chicken, sans chicken. Also, this time I went for a late lunch with Jethro at 2:30pm on a Sunday. If you don’t want to wait, this is a great time to go.

If you’re looking for something fresh and different in Ottawa, definitely give Pure Kitchen a visit.

Pure Kitchen Ottawa | 357 Richmond Road, Ottawa
http://www.purekitchenottawa.com/

2 thoughts on “Pure Kitchen Ottawa

    1. Very true! I work during the day, so that wouldn’t work out for me. But I’m sure a weekday afternoon would be a great time to grab something to eat at Pure Kitchen! :)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

