Moo Shu Ice Cream & Kitchen

I first met Liz of Moo Shu Ice Cream & Kitchen in 2015 at Urban Craft, where I was volunteering. As I started selling greeting cards at shows as Simply Steph Ko, I continued to bump into Liz at other shows in the city, and we got to chat about our dreams of growing our respective businesses.

wp-1469902942864.jpg

She shared that she was dreaming of and working toward opening a standalone ice cream shop in the city. And less than a year later, here we are! Their new storefront on Bank Street opened its doors in July with a wildly successful soft launch. I can’t wait for their official grand opening! I’m sure they will be a fixture in the community.

IMG_20160724_193458-01.jpeg

All of her flavours are unique. Most you can’t find anywhere else in Ottawa, some you can’t find anywhere else in the world.

IMG_20160731_143749-01

At one of last year’s markets, I tried one of the ice cream truffles everyone had been talking about. I cannot remember what flavour it was, though I do remember that she kept them frozen using liquid nitrogen. Here it is thawing in the hot summer heat.

Using as-local-as-possible ingredients, Liz strongly believes in supporting other local businesses. Since they have only just opened the Bank Street shop recently, they have had to adjust their workflow and scale up, finding suppliers that can support this small batch ice creamery. The challenges of small business entrepreneurship are very real, and I can’t wait to see how Liz manages it all. So far, with incredible grace and professionalism.

Jethro and I visited the shop 3 times in July. On our first visit, we tried a couple of the flavours and settled on the Hong Kong Milk Tea (always a favourite), and the Froot Loops Cereal Milk (so good!).

IMG_20160724_194529-01.jpeg

On our second visit, we had the lime leaf + fresh mint, and raspberry frozen yogourt. They were perfect refreshment for a hot day, although Jethro didn’t like the sour raspberry flavour (I loved it).

wp-1469902931824.jpg
I just noticed.. Jethro’s holding my purse in this picture, hehe!

On our third visit, we stuck to our favourites (froot loops and mint). But I also tried the rum and cake batter, which I loved! Jethro not as much. The flavours are rotating, and I’m sure I’ll be back, many many times.

Moo Shu Ice Cream & Kitchen | 477 Bank Street, Ottawa
http://www.mooshuicecream.com

Leave a Reply

