DIY Ombre Nail Polish Striped Phone Case

I could never leave the house without my phone being in a case. When I got my new phone, I stuck it in a sock until the new phone case I ordered online had arrived. I don’t know about you, but I am such a klutz that I would never trust myself to not drop my phone at least twice a day. If you’re putting a case on your phone, it may as well be fun, right?

For the Makeful Challenge last month, Makeful asked us to create a DIY with a clear iPhone case. I knew immediately that I wanted to do an update to an old DIY that I did in 2012.

At the end of the post, I will give away this case. So if you have an iPhone 5, and you’d like this case, scroll down to the end!

MATERIALS

  • Nail polish
  • Washi tape
  • Makeup sponge
  • Clear phone case (provided by Makeful)

HOW TO MAKE IT

Step 1:

Choose 3-4 nail polish colours that you want to include in your ombre. I used Essie‘s topless & barefoot, eternal optimist, peach daquiri, and mink muffs, but you can choose any colours that you like together.

Step 2:

Using a thin washi tape, tape out different sections ( I just eyeballed the spacing).

Step 3:

Using an old makeup sponge, dab the nail polish into the taped off section.

Tip: Put the paint directly on the tape, and dab it to spread the colour.

I had previously tested out putting the nail polish onto the case, and then dabbing, but that left a visible outline of the spot where I lay the nail polish. I also tried painting the sponge first, before dabbing the case, but that didn’t work either. The best method is to dab it onto the tape first, and then spread it out evenly.

And, ta-da!! Because the case I used is clear, you get a neat translucent effect with the nail polish. Since there is very little nail polish on the case, it dries fairly quickly. You can also dab a layer of clear nail polish on top to protect the design. Or you can leave it as is. If you get tired of the design, simply remove it using nail polish remover, and start again.

Once you’re happy with the design, snap the case onto your phone and you are good to go!

img_20160710_092136-01-640x480

GIVEAWAY

This is an iPhone 5 case, and since I don’t have an iPhone, this case doesn’t fit my phone. I would be happy to gift this case away. If you are interested in having this case, please leave a comment on this post below telling me what your favourite DIY you’ve ever done is! Giveaway closes on August 31st, 2016 at 11:59PM EST and is open to Canada and US residents only.

This tutorial is an update of the DIY Decorated Phone Case on my old blog, and this new tutorial first appeared on Makeful.

Leave a Reply

