Piccolo Grande

With a super colourful interior space, and bright selection of gelato.. the best word I can think of to describe Piccolo Grande is vibrant.

I had heard great things about Piccolo Grande, and have walked past it many times in the Market, but had never stopped in to try the gelato. So when my friends and I were on our way home from our church’s picnic, we decided that gelato was the perfect thing after a day of fun on the beach and in the sun.

IMG_20160806_163524-01

I didn’t count, but there had to be more than 30 different flavour selections of sorbet and gelato. I settled on two flavours in the smallest size (piccolino). Their sizes are deceptive, because they fill the cups and cones up AND THEN SOME.

I got Maple Sugar and another flavour I can’t remember the name of, but tastes like Ferrero Rocher (YUM). I love love loved them, and they paired well together. I have learned that you can’t just choose two flavours you like.. you need to think about how they go together. Too many times I’ve had something rich and sweet with something tart and refreshing, and they taste great separate, but not together.

I definitely loved the gelato, and the portion size at Piccolo Grande. So I will definitely be back!

I haven’t been to the Bank Street location, but I’ve heard from some friends that the Byward Market location is better. And I can attest to the fact that the Market location is absolutely great!

Piccolo Grande | 55 Murray Street, Ottawa

IMG_20160806_164256-01

Leave a Reply

